Revisiting old photos

Woman sitting waiting for a bus in Oxford Street, London

Having switched from Aperture to Lightroom some months ago, I’ve finally got round to reprocessing some photos that I’d previously attempted to process in Aperture but wasn’t happy with the results.

This is the first of those. I don’t know why I resisted Lightroom for so long. I think it was a case of better the devil you know – or rather just not wanting to learn to use yet another piece of software. But Apple forced my hand when they dropped Aperture. And I’m so glad they did.

The problem with this shot was that there was a lot of noise. Switching it to black and white in Aperture didn’t give a satisfactory result. But de-noising in Lightroom and adding a bit of grain seems to have turned this into a half decent shot.

Though, having bought a new camera in April that is much better at low light, I won’t have this problem again. You’ve got to love technology!

5 thoughts on “Revisiting old photos

  1. Pingback: Welcome home – Spitalfields | Slice of London Life

Leave a Reply

